Plantain Banana Muffins (egg-free, paleo, nut free)

It’s been a while, I’ll  catch u all up later, here’s my latest yummy gluten free, egg-free, dairy-free, grain-free treat..

image

Plantain Banana muffins (or cake, but the cake flattened more looking like a pancake, kids said it tasted the same)
Into you’re vitamix or other strong blender add in:
4 ripe banana’s
2 green plantains
1/3 cup rice syrup (I’m sure maple would work the same)
1 TBS apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup tapioca startch/flour
1 5/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cream of tarter (PHD guys? I don’t know but I had some so I used it)
1/2 tsp real salt (or any salt)
1/3 cup soft, pourable coconut oil (like it gets in the summer)
Splash of real vannila

Blend this for a bit (about a minute in the vitamix) mix the gelatin first as described and then add the gel to the vitamix and blend until the plantains are basically emulsified 🙂

Mix first:
3 TBS water (I used coconut water from my canned coconut milk)
2 tsp gelatin  (I used great Lakes, the red can) sprinkle the gelatin over the water and let it bloom a bit but not too much, stir it and add it kinda quickly so I doesn’t turn hard, you’re looking for a soft gel, pudding like consistency. Add and blend till smooth.

I stirred in about 1/3 of a cup of Enjoy Life chocolate chips
Scoop into lined muffin cups and bake in preheated oven at 350 for, it took mine 45 minutes to be done and the toothpick to come clean.  Cool a bit and eat! These stored well on the counter, they got dry when I froze one and I would say freezing isn’t ideal and the one in the fridge I thought wasn’t as nice as the one in the counter… they are already gone lol. My kids LOVED them! Let me know if u make this and how it turns out!

The original recipe can be found here, as you can see I completely changed it but credit due where credit is due great recipe!

http://www.acleanplate.com/recipe/aip-chocolate-cake/

Leave a Reply

